top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAshley L

October!

10/1/2021

Wow, I’ve been here for a long time. Like a month and a half now, just living all Independently. I love that for me. Also, it’s spooky season 👻. I definitely want to go to a festival, haunted house or theme party here. I feel like it would be so much fun. I had class at 9:30 today and it took everything out of me to get up out of my full bed. Something about getting up early in the morning just doesn’t sit right with me. Anyway, class went well. My professor talks a lot, but what do you expect? Today we saw the church where Peter’s chains are held. It was a sight to see, and I know my mom will want to see pictures. We also saw Michelangelo’s ‘tragedy’, the remains of a work of art he did. The sculpture was breathtaking to me and it made me think of the topic of perspective. Even a prestigious artist like Michelangelo had his own definition of a tragedy, something that millions of people have marveled at to this day. Sometimes I think the things that I do are mediocre or not worth praising, but it’s really about perspective. I’m finding it harder to focus in on lectures and even on site classes, because I’m either thinking about my own situations or constantly being self aware about the people who are walking or standing beside me. Even though my class is about 15 people, I still see people single me out with their eyes and gesture to their partners to look at me. No, I’m still not used to it and no, I will never like it. Two women bumped into me today and said nothing. If I say something, I instantly become a stereotype. If I allow it, I’m enabling other people to see me as invisible. Days like this is why I always start and end my day with prayer, because folks will try you every chance they get.


I made a small 'bucket list' for the remainder of my time here in Rome. I kind of feel guilty because I didn't go out as much for the first 6 weeks. But I also don't feel guilty because I needed to learn my surroundings and get acclimated to the culture. Now that I have realized my time is quickly coming to an end, my list of things I must do is growing. This weekend, I'm going to the Italian cinema, the Bioparco di Roma and Jolibee's restaurant. These are all new things that I have not experienced yet, but I also have a few places on my list that I want to return to, like the Castel of Sant'Angelo, the Massimo shopping center and of course my favorite gelateria in Trastevere.

10:21pm

OMG, they just shot some fireworks and it scared the mess out of me. I love fireworks but when they’re unexpected and sound like they’re right outside my door…sheesh. Nevertheless, they made me happy while watching them. I missed the fireworks on the 4th of July because I had to do 10 people's jobs at Dairy Queen, but this was a nice redemption.



Chains of St. Peter at the Basilica di San Pietro in Vincoli (Basilica of St. Peter in chains).

Tomb of Pope Julius II by Michelangelo at the Basilica of St. Peter in chains; Michelangelo calls this piece of art his 'tragedy'.



Fireworks in the Prati neighborhood.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page