top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAshley L

Transitioning time

9/26/2021

I woke up at like 5 am today to try to catch Rome in a quiet time, but of course there were still a few cars and the occasional ambulance siren passing through the eternal city. I will start(and finish) packing my clothes and belongings today because I move to my new apartment tomorrow! My mother and study abroad advisor really pushed for me to get moved into a new and more safe location, but I did not really see the use in doing it because I knew I would be viewed the same way I am, no matter where I am in Rome. Nevertheless, I’m really excited and I hope that I feel more safe there, because Trastevere is nice and convenient for a student, but for a person who looks like me and absolutely HATES when people stare at me, it just ain’t cutting it. I went to a local museum yesterday, got a massage and eyebrow wax, and treated myself to a home cooked meal and gelato. I love doing things for myself, by myself, because at the end of the day my happiness is in my hands and I will do what I can to preserve it.


My favorite flavors of gelato from Gelateria Giuffrè, my favorite gelateria in Rome.

La Boca Della Verità, mouth of truth, at the Museo di Roma in Trastevere.



The mouth of truth is rumored to bite the hand of those who do not tell the truth!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page